ETEC 674- Session 5

  1. You have been asked to create a podcast. Which of the above tools (or name another) you would use? Briefly explain the procedure you would use to create the podcast.

To create a podcast, I would most likely use GarageBand because it is an app that I have on my iPad. It is a popular app and it is free, besides a one-time in-app-purchase for $4.99. I would start by choosing audio recording by sliding until I find that option in the app. Once I choose it, I will record by clicking the red record button. Once I am finished recording, I can choose different sound effect filters for my recording. Then, I will save it into my songs and export it as an m4a file that I can then share anywhere.

  1. You have been asked to help create a presentation that demonstrates how to resize a photograph using Adobe Photoshop. Which of the above tools (or name another) would you use? How would you go about creating the presentation?

I learn better when I can see someone doing what I want to learn. The best way to create a presentation that teaches how to resize a photo would be to start by writing down all the steps in order. Then, I would create a screencast with audio using the QuickTime Player on my Mac that shows exactly how to do each step. To create the screencast with audio, I have to make sure that the microphone option is turned on and then I choose file and select new screen recording. When I am ready, I start recording and stop recording when I am finished. Then, I can save the file and I can export it to YouTube.

  1. What are tools like Articulate and Captivate for? What features do they offer that would be hard to replicate with less expensive tools?

The tools Articulate and Captivate are used to design courses for eLearning. They both offer features that turn a regular slideshow presentation into a Flash video. They both have quiz makers, LMS connectivity settings, learning interactions, and the customization of skins, color schemes, and interface. Captivate also has capability for animation and audio synchronization. The tools for animation would be difficult to replicate with less expensive tools as well as the customization of the interface, skins, and color schemes. They are both expensive tools, but they seem like great tools for eLearning development.

  1. Create a presentation! 

YouTube Video: 

Google Docs Transcript: http://bit.ly/1DfPWIG

Google Slides Presentation: http://bit.ly/1CyTLFS

  1. Explain your presentation development method, procedures and technology. This is to be posted on your blog. Cover the following:

5a) What did you do to prepare to develop the presentation?

I decided to create a screencast because I have been teaching teachers how to use Google Classroom and I wanted an easier way for them to replicate what I showed them. I read about using QuickTime to create a screencast, but I had never used it before so I read a few blog posts about using it to record a screencast. Then, I realized that I needed to add audio to the screencast and I didn’t know how to do that, so I had to do more research. I found a blog post that had images showing how to turn the microphone option for the screencast.

5b) Did you create the transcript first? Why or why not?

I did not create the transcript first because I thought it would be hard to follow as I went through the steps on the screencast. However, I think that if I did it again, I would create the screencast first and it would make the audio more professional.

5c) Explain your development process.

I decided that I would go over how to create a class, how to add materials to the class, and how to create an assignment. Those are three basic skills that are needed to use Google Classroom. I had to start over a few times because I made a few early mistakes and because I kept coughing while I was recording. There are still a few coughs in the video, but I couldn’t stop from coughing for five minutes.

5d) Explain how you addressed (or would address) ADA considerations in your presentation.

I think that I addressed ADA considerations in my presentation by creating a video with a transcript in which the text can be resized and the font can be changed for students with visual impairments. For students with hearing impairments, I made sure to record the audio with the screencast. I tried to keep the screen clear and easy to follow by staying in the same browsing window and not zooming in and out of anything.

5e) What did you learn about creating presentations? If nothing, then you didn’t create the right kind of presentation as you should not do something you already have mastered! Challenge yourself!

I decided to create a screencast video because it is something that I have never done before, but that I felt I needed to learn, especially if I want to teach other people how to do things with technology. I feel that screencasts can be an important tool for my students. I have recorded a different type of screencast on an iPad using the app Explain Everything, and I think that involved many more steps than using QuickTime, but the end result was different because with Explain Everything I was able to record myself writing on the screen with a stylus to solve a math problem and it worked like a slideshow because I could record within each slide and create a video of the entire presentation by exporting it. With QuickTime, I felt more pressure not to make a mistake because I would have to start all over.

5 comments

  1. Nice presentation! I also like the discussion you provided about the challenges of using Quicktime as a development tool. These kinds of considerations are important!

    1. Thanks Dr. Newberry!

      Even though it has it’s challenges, Quicktime was a pretty easy tool to use. I have a Mac in my classroom that I could have my students use to make screencasts to teach other students how to use the different tools that they have become experts in using.

      Griselda

  2. Hi Griselda,

    Nice work! Thanks for sharing this application. I didn’t know that Google made a CMS. I really liked your demonstration and it was easy to follow. You very smoothly walked us through a variety of different steps an instructor could use to create a class. It looks pretty straight-forward and seems to have all the basic items you need to create a very functional class.

    Here is a link for anyone else in class that contains some basic information about this program which is a component of Google Apps for Education:

    http://www.google.com/edu/products/productivity-tools/

    It looks like it is free but your entire organization needs to participate.

    Thanks,

    Earl

    1. Hi Earl,

      Thank you for your feedback! I have been very pleased with the simplicity and usefulness of Google Classroom with my students this year. It gives me the ability to instantly share things with my students without having to make copies of everything or write the link somewhere for them. The best part is that it is easy to use for both teachers and students. I didn’t have to add each student individually and all they have to do to join a class is enter a code. I am so glad that my district has decided to go with Google Apps for Education. I can imagine that middle and high school teachers would also find Classroom very useful, although Haiku is our district LMS.

      Thanks again,
      Griselda

Leave a Reply

