ETEC 648- Session 7: Online Discussions

  1. Overall, how well did your rubric work?

My rubric made it easy to grade the discussion posts based on the criteria that I chose. I was able to grade the original post, the responses to measure engagement, and writing conventions. If this had been my class, it would have been a fair way to assess them because they would have known the criteria on the rubric prior to participating in the online discussion. I was surprised at the number of errors my two students made in writing conventions, but having the rubric made it easy to determine whether they had partial or minimal evidence of mastery just by counting the number of errors that they made. It took a long time to figure out how many posts each of my students had written using this collection of the online discussion. I ended up copying and pasting each of their responses into this document to make it easier for me to grade them. However, this would not be the ideal way to grade if I had more than two students in the class.

  1. Identify and explain the strengths of your rubric.

One of the strengths of my rubric was that I included a specific number of responses they had to write and a certain number of errors they could have. That made it easy to determine what level of mastery they had accomplished and it would make it easy to show the students how they ended up with a certain score based on their response. It made it a little less subjective.

  1. Identify and explain one weaknesses of your rubric.

One weakness in my rubric was that the writing conventions were equally weighted with the original post and engagement. For these particular students, having equal points for conventions was not to their benefit. I think that the quality of the original post and their engagement in the discussion should be worth more points than writing conventions. Another weakness was that I did not include supporting evidence as part of the original post. I think it is important for students to include references that support their response.

  1. What changes would you make to your rubric now that you have used it?

I would change the number of points for the categories so that writing conventions do not have an equal weight. Instead of being worth a total of 10 points for each category, I would change it to 12 points for the original post and for engagement and 6 points for writing conventions. I would also add supporting evidence with sources to the original post category.

  11 to 12 points- Thorough Evidence of Mastery 9 to 10 points-Adequate Evidence of Mastery 6 to 8 points- Partial Evidence of Mastery 0 to 5 points- Minimal evidence of mastery
Original Post Responds skillfully to all parts of the prompt

Strong use of organization of ideas, concepts and information

Includes supporting evidence and cites a minimum of two sources to support their response

Responds to all parts of the prompt

Organizes ideas, concepts and information

Includes supporting evidence and cites at least one source to support their response

Responds to most parts of the prompt

Limited use of organization of ideas, concepts and information

Includes supporting evidence, but does not cite the source

Responds to few or no parts of the prompt

Little or no use of organization of ideas, concepts and information

Does not include supporting evidence

Engagement More than 3 posts that integrate supporting evidence such as facts, details, questions, quotations, or examples to make connections and support their responses A minimum of 3 posts that include supporting evidence such as facts, details, quotations, or examples to support their responses 2 to 3 posts that include some supporting evidence such as facts, details, quotations, or examples to support their responses Posts do not include supporting evidence
  6 points- Thorough Evidence of Mastery 4 to 5 points-Adequate Evidence of Mastery 2 to 3 points- Partial Evidence of Mastery 1 point- Minimal evidence of mastery
Writing Conventions Demonstrates exemplary command of grammar, capitalization, punctuation and spelling (No errors) Demonstrates command of grammar, capitalization, punctuation and spelling (1-2 errors) Demonstrates limited command of grammar, capitalization, punctuation and spelling (3-5 errors) Demonstrates insufficient command of grammar, capitalization, punctuation and spelling (6 or more errors)
  1. Reflect on what you have learned this week. What have you learned that has the potential to inform or influence you or your practice of online learning going forward? Explain why.

This week I learned more about online discussions and testing in online classes. I found the information about online discussions valuable because my project is about having online discussions with my sixth grade students. Grading online discussions is not an easy task! I think I would have to have some kind of check off list if I really wanted to make my rubric useful for grading an online discussion because I need to be able to go back and reread what students wrote before I give them a grade. Hopefully, there is an easy way to pull up all of the posts for one student to make it easier to grade their responses. I would also have to make sure that I had already read and participated in the online discussion to make sure that everyone was engaged. These are all things that I will have to consider as I try having online discussions with my students. Grading is one way to motivate students, so in theory, having a rubric with specific categories and guidelines will motivate my students to be active participants in our online discussions.

Leave a Reply

